Deploying another windows image error

Stuck at some Point? Your Lumia is already dead? Maybe others can help you!
Post Reply
goverweg
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2019 6:22 am

Deploying another windows image error

Post by goverweg » Tue Sep 10, 2019 9:21 am

Deploying another build of windows ARM64 with WoA when booting lumia back in mass storage mode
Is no problem. The problem is the error message that windows can not be installed in the used machine.
Windows Could Not Configure To Run On This Computer Hardware
What can be done?
0 x

goverweg
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2019 6:22 am

Re: Deploying another windows image error

Post by goverweg » Tue Sep 10, 2019 6:24 pm

OK. I have reset the phone and started from the beginning.
Depøyed vs 18363.329 again. The same error message:
Windows Could Not Configure To Run On This Computer Hardware
0 x

goverweg
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2019 6:22 am

Re: Deploying another windows image error

Post by goverweg » Wed Sep 11, 2019 7:36 am

I tried to install 18975 since it hasn´t the phone module. The first I deployed was 18970 which worked flawless.
then I tried the phone versions who brought the installing problem. Now 18975 wouldn´t install either.
Windows Could Not Configure To Run On This Computer Hardware
0 x

The_GTA
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2019 9:17 am
x 39
x 24

Re: Deploying another windows image error

Post by The_GTA » Wed Sep 11, 2019 1:36 pm

Hello goverweg,

nice to see you in our little WoA community. :) First let's try to understand your situation:
1) what tools are you using to "deploy" WoA? are you implying to use WoA Deployer? or is it the older WoA Installer?
2) if you are using WoA deployer did you make sure to clean the downloaded files folder before deploying? make sure to have the latest 1909 drivers.
3) did you try backing up your device and then flashing to original settings? (lock bootloader, then use MSFT phone recovery tools)
4) what device are you using? Lumia 950? XL?

I will try to get you out of this situation. Have been stuck before, aswell. Please understand that having WoA work once does not mean that it will work again. Even after updating your Windows 10 Mobile build can cause things to break (trust me I was there).
0 x

goverweg
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2019 6:22 am

Re: Deploying another windows image error

Post by goverweg » Wed Sep 11, 2019 3:36 pm

First of all, yes I use the Lumia 950 XL
Further WoA deployer 2.6 which downloads the 1909 drivers.
This version cleans downloads folder before deployment.
I did not use Windows Device Recoveriy Tool the first time, when everything went allright
and I could innstall Win 10 18970 and use it.
I tried then to install an older version 18363,329 which has still the phone possibility and wanted to try that.
Brought the Lumia in mass storage mode from the menu and installed it.
Then the trouble began with the unable to install message.
I did a reset of the phone.
flashed the ffu downloaded the first time in wpinternals.
Upgraded the phone to build 10.0.15254.547. Used WDCT to upgrade to the latest
firmware 01078.00053.16236.35018
Unlocked booter with wpinternals 2.8 and the original ffu downloaded to the program.
Unlocked it and switched to mass storage mode.
Used WoA as I did before. deployed latest winarm vs. 18975.
And got the same error message when windows is preparing the installation.
0 x

The_GTA
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2019 9:17 am
x 39
x 24

Re: Deploying another windows image error

Post by The_GTA » Wed Sep 11, 2019 5:45 pm

OK, since there is no obvious mistake in your steps (I assume you did not mistakenly flash the wrong .wim, etc) allow me to throw some wild ideas at you... Seeing that you attempted a lot already. Please take my suggestions with a pinch of salt.

1) seeing that you never mentioned the topic "relock", did you try restoring secureboot using wpinternals and unlocking the phone again? just asking because theoretically you could leave the phone unlocked while restoring it
2) are you sure the Windows 10 image is not corrupted? try downloading it do a different HDD and then comparing the SHA256 signatures (bad HDD sectors, etc)
3) (not tried, dangerous): have you tried to manually delete the partitions of your phone, then cleanly deploying Windows 10 again? some left-over files could have not been cleanly restored by recovery tools.
4) does a reset of UEFI variables help you in any way? it can be done through the developer menu during boot.
5) camera, sound, wifi, bluetooth, cellular and USB are all working fine under W10M, right? I mean there was no over-heating that broke your device in any way (WoA is known to run the phone really hot).
6) did you try disconnecting any USB devices from the phone during setup? did you try removing any SD card?
0 x

goverweg
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2019 6:22 am

Re: Deploying another windows image error

Post by goverweg » Thu Sep 12, 2019 7:55 pm

Tried today all your possible proposals.
Another day of misusing my time
I give up.
Thank you for your interest to help.
0 x

goverweg
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2019 6:22 am

Re: Deploying another windows image error

Post by goverweg » Tue Sep 17, 2019 11:18 am

Did another try.
reflashed the phone with saved ffu file.
Updated the phone several times from early state to 547.
reset the phone, which keeps it in 547 version but didn´t reinstall the country version and the backup yet.
Downloaded the home version, but that doesn´t probably do the thing.
the windows recovery tool was open all the time.
Deployed the image with woadeployer 2.6
And voila.
The phone works with woadialer but I can not end a call.
Is that a known bug?
0 x

The_GTA
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2019 9:17 am
x 39
x 24

Re: Deploying another windows image error

Post by The_GTA » Tue Sep 17, 2019 11:22 am

goverweg wrote:
Tue Sep 17, 2019 11:18 am
The phone works with woadialer but I can not end a call.
Is that a known bug?
:D
Glad to hear that it works for you!

By the way, not sure if this is related to the bug:
https://github.com/WOA-Project/MSM8994- ... 06d1223eee
https://github.com/WOA-Project/woadialer/issues/16

I am experiencing the same issue (I posted on that woadialer issue as quiret).
0 x

Post Reply